Let’s Chat: Mind Chatter

Epigenetics has proven that our emotional state has a tremendous impact on our physical health. That means we can pro-actively take action to better our wellness.

But how can we do anything proactive with the way life is today – busy, full, stressed. Our brains don’t even get time to rest. So in the latest Let’s Chat, I shared tools that helped me with my mind chatter. The video is here, but there’s a freebie at the end of this post.

It starts with paying attention; being aware. Awareness is the beginning of change. For that to happen, we must take time to slow down and listen, to reconnect with ourselves, with our God or higher source and with the part of us that inherently wants to be better, happier, healthier. It takes stepping outside of the busy-ness, even for just a few minutes.

So what does that look like? First, it doesn’t have to look like a monk or meditation master. It could look like sitting for five minutes and focusing on some easy music or focusing on your breathing (is it shallow? is it deep and full?) or doing focused relaxation (one body area at a time). It could look like focusing on a mantra, our One Word or looking out and observing nature. All these activities help to slow down the mind chatter.

Mind body practices like yoga are great also. Yoga keeps the mind actively focused on moving and aligning the body and breathing. It can’t then consciously think or chatter about the stuff it was rambling on about before.

Interestingly enough, just prior to preparing for my Sunday Let’s Chat, in my YouTube feed came this video titled “Working with difficult emotions”. It is by Anna Guest Jelly of Curvy Yoga. I’ve followed Anna for years. She is a wonderful teacher and shows great modifications. If you’re new to yoga, her youtube channel is a really good resource. The linked video is also a super easy practice.

Another resource is Brainwave Entrainment. Brainwave entrainment uses wave frequencies to bring into coherence the activity of our brain. A wonderful tool to help with mind chatter. What I really like is that I don’t need headphones, I could have it on as background music and it’s something I can’t overdose on. Even though I’ve been using it for about a month, I didn’t think I was ready to share it, until I realized how much it helped me this past week.

I’ve been using it as my background music while working on writing and design. Well, last night I got my period. Usually in the week leading up to my period, my mind chatter is not just there, it’s 10x worse. It’s erratic, focus is a massive challenge and it takes me 30 minutes to write a paragraph whereas on a more normal day I could do it in five.

But this past week I was able to be more productive than I would have expected pre-period. I was aware of the erratic chatter, but I would play the track when I sat down to work and I’d say it was about a 85% improvement. I got work done without feeling like it was an uphill drag. Yay!!! Learn more and get a free demo here of the same system I used.

I’ll see you next Sunday for another Let’s Chat and I hope this week you take time to give your mind some love and support.

So what do you think?

