No Resolutions Here

My one word for 2017

Today I spent some time preparing for a group coaching session using one of my favorite tools. Authors Britton, Page and Gordon, shares a method that uses one word instead of a resolution. This method is so amazing and used by people of all denominations and persuasions.

I have been using one word for four years now and it has been amazing to see my journey. My word for 2016 is OPEN. In short, my goal was to be more open to what life brought – good and not so good. Being open has brought some amazing experiences into my 2016 and  fostered so much personal change and growth in me. I even credit it with bettering my relationship with my family. You can read my first ‘open’ post and explanation here.

Two things that make the one word method so great:
– the process you go through to come up with your word, and;
– having a single point/word to reference or come back to in the midst of life happening.

I’m looking forward to working on my one word over my Christmas getaway. I’ll be more unplugged anyway so it would be a good use of my time.

Check out one word for yourself and give it a go for 2017.

2 thoughts on “No Resolutions Here

  1. I love the idea of having one word as a guide and point of reference for the year. I have never heard of this method before, but it makes so much sense. Usually my goals end up being a hodge podge of random things that I want to accomplish. Many of them never get done because they get lost in the shuffle and are hard to remember as the year goes on. Basically, I lose focus. I am really looking forward to reading more about this method and giving it a try for 2017.

    Like

So what do you think?

