Clarity In No

lessons-not-failures

In this post, I credit NOT getting what I wanted for giving me clarity. Yes, you read that right – I did not get something I wanted.

I sure did try though. I spent a week searching out channels, even ones I would not normally entertain to be able to pay for an online course. But to no avail. The final enrollment day came and yes, I was disappointed, but not for long.

I’ve learned that there are blessings in every situation, even the ones we don’t want. However, we need those because we need the lessons they present. And it would behoove us to learn the lesson at the time also because if not, it will present itself again, usually occurring in more of the same disappointing situation.

What I chose to see, was If I’d gotten into the class, I would have left a bunch of projects in suspended animation – something that I feel was becoming a habit. With that thought, it was a second wind to work on my #EnjoyingBeing tools. It brought a renewed level of excitement for me; that ‘don’t-want-to-go-out’, ‘I-don’t-want-to-do-anything-else’  kind of excitement. Plus, I could get my self prepared to enroll in the next round of the class.

Look for the lessons in the nos that you get, they are just as, if not more valuable than what you can learn from the yeses. Nos are not us. Too often I think we internalize our life situations until we become those things or events. We are not things or events. They impact and influence us, but we are not them. We experience failure, we are not failures. Look for the lesson in your failure, not for yourself.

So what do you think?

