Are You Able?

Everyone is capable, not everyone is able.

What makes you able is your ability to acquire the skills necessary to do what you are capable of doing. What stops many from acquiring the skill is buying into the belief that they are not able. I hope that you can get past that thought enough to take action.

I had just left our monthly Pee Dee Business and Professional Women Networking Lunch. It’s always an uplifting  and fun networking event (with good food). I stopped to take a couple pictures of a tree with a interesting form and to share a word of encouragement on social media.

everyday can look good

As I hopped in my car to head to my next stop, my mind thinking of the upcoming call I had scheduled regarding John Maxwell’s coach training. And of course, the itty, bitty, shitty comity was having a meeting in my head discussing the ways this was not going to work. Because of my journey, I noticed this counter-productive thinking almost immediately and started to work on it. In a few seconds, I said out loud, “Everyone is capable, not everyone is able. I AM able. I am willing to do what I must.” I said this to myself as I pulled out my parking space and started driving. I had not gone forward 20 feet, when I jammed on my brake and hopped out of my car to pick up the largest feather I had ever found. I estimated it at 15 inches – moment of wonder to say the least.

Feather Sign Wild Turkey

What you seek is also seeking you.

I’ve been cultivating the act of allowing in my life. I’ve said for a long time that if I’m going to claim to be a Christian, I must live with faith. Faith is not forcing the point, but allowing God to work things out for you. I hadn’t ask for a sign but this was definitely one.

So what makes the feather a sign?  These borrowed words explain it well:

Whenever you observe a sign, take note of the following:

  • What you were thinking just before it happened?
  • What is going on in your life lately or at that particular moment in time?
  • How did it make you feel when you found it?
  • What were your first thoughts, feelings or impressions?
  • What could the sign be telling you?

It is just a matter of believing, letting go, and staying aware. Signs often remind us to be at peace and relax into the nature and flow of life.

It’s a feather. So what?

Have you ever wished you could get a clear answer to a life question? Should you move to XYZ? Is the career the right on for me? Is choosing this partner the right decision? I had a habit of indecision. However, I’ve learned that I’m always better off deciding because not making a choice is still deciding, so why not be proactive for myself? I’ve also learned to follow my curiosities and intuitions. I believe that God still speaks to us (call it the Divine, the Universe, whatever your spiritual connection is). We have to be open to that information because it doesn’t always come in a loud, booming voice.

So what did I get from my feather?

I got a big resounding YES!!! Yes, that I am able. Yes that I am pursuing a right path for me. Yes, that it will happen, even though I can’t see how yet. Yes, I got all that from my feather.

Not being an expert on feathers, I took to the internet to find what I had found. The best I could come up with was that it’s a primary wing feather from a wild turkey.

According to the website Wildspeak, words that embody the animal energy of the wild turkey are:

Cunning and agility, fierceness and courage, being able to project your voice and your truths, tenacity, gratitude, renewable resources and cultivating a spirit of growth, living in accordance with the spirits of the land, a worthy adversary, being desirable to others, using energy in small bursts effectively.

Wow! Things I do and strive to master. I also found some other pretty cool and relevent info in research.

Indians.org states that “Feathers mean a lot to Native American Tribes.  A feather isn’t just something that falls out of a bird, it means much more.  The feather symbolizes trust, honor, strength, wisdom, power, freedom and many more things. To be given one of these is to be hand picked out of the rest of the men in the tribe – it’s like getting a gift from a high official.”

The color also has symbolic meaningGrey means –

  • peace and neutrality (as it is in the middle of black and white)
  • find peace within yourself
  • the neutral aspect represents neutrality in your question – the answer is not black and white but grey, and hence neither yes or no but perhaps in the middle or a combination of both
  • wisdom & the attainment of mastery
  • a nudge that you are on the right track
  • authenticity
  • flexibility

So as of the writing of this post (7/31/16 11:35AM), I do not yet see where I’m getting the monies to take the certification class I was looking at. But, I have found a free course to help me get started on my path and I’m believing that it will happen. I have evidence in favor.

What are you seeking? Are you seeking in faith?

One thought on “Are You Able?

So what do you think?

