Do you Periscope?

Join YesRoanne on Periscope

If images of a submarine in a bad 50’s movie comes to mind, back up a moment. Periscope is a way to share and watch live video broadcasts from your mobile phone. Yes, LIVE! from anyone who is broadcasting.

I’m a bit of a techie, so this totally piqued my interest. Live?!?! Oh the possibilities.

First – my team members who cannot attend conference. They can be there with me – via live video.

Second – guests who cannot attend a party. They can attend – via live video.

Third – my mom who cannot travel with me. She can – via live video.

You must have a Twitter account to use Periscope for broadcasting and that it is only available through it’s app (on iOS and Google Play); though viewing can be done on a desktop. You can also view replays for up to 24 hours.

One of my top recommendations is to hold your device in the direction your type or have it set to view. You device is set to portrait, keep it oriented that way, because the video will be sideways from the comments or vice versa.

While Periscope is still in it’s infancy, I’m really intrigued and can’t wait to see where it goes. I’m sure there will be all sorts of privacy issues that come up with this. And my current view may be a little crass to some. While my hope is always that humans will step up and do the best they can, I always say that you cannot legislate people’s behavior and I’m sure there will be inappropriate streaming from many. So…if it’s not for the world to see, don’t do it in public.Right now, I think it’s a great tool for my business tool box. Okay, time to play.

I found a tutorial post , if you like that sort of thing. I just signed in with twitter and found it pretty intuitive; though I forgot to tweet my first broadcast. The replay of your broadcasts are available to your followers for 24 hours after. You can save it to your gallery or download it right after the end of your broadcast.

With that, I am signing off. I’ll see you on the screen.

So what do you think?

