So what is it about this Entrepreneur thing? 3 Pros.

Screen Shot 2015-05-16 at 12.35.52 AM

In my journey as an Entrepreneur, I crossed paths with many people who’ve said, “I’ve never really wanted to own my own business. It’s just not something I ever wanted to do.” That statement, to me, was evidence of the giant hole in our education system; a system built to create rote employees.

In this post I am going to make the case for entrepreneurship because, well, truthfully, I just don’t buy being only an employee anymore (as I sit in a cubicle where they pay me to do work…oh the irony).

So why am I writing the post? I have just set my time-line to vacate my position as an employee. **Does a short happy dance**. It’s been a long journey.

I do hope I’m not mis-understood: being a stellar employee is a worthy goal. If you’re going to work somewhere, why not be the best? But depending on your ultimate life goal, being an employee may not be the best vehicle. That said, one benefit of living in 2015, is that you can do both, even just for a while. I’ve been doing it for 5 years and it’s time to make the jump.

So what makes this Entrepreneur thing so attractive to me?

It’s the only way to create your own freedom – financial and time. 

A friend of mine always says that any company will only pay you just enough so you don’t leave. In my personal experience, they may not even do that. And with regard to time, as long as you have to show up when someone says so, you’re on their schedule, as flexible as they allow you to make it.

Our economy is not what is was 50 years ago. The system that worked then does not work now.

Here is an exempt form a somewhat cheeky, but poignant article about out new economy. I think it sums it up accurately.

Jobs as our parents knew it are dead. Income has gone down versus inflation for 40 years. People are being demoted and spending less years at a job.

View a job as just one source of income among many.

Build up your sources of income. Be creative. Write a blog. Do consulting on the side. Get more skills. Do speaking. Be an entre-ployee.

Then suddenly you won’t have “just” a job. You wont’ be an entrepreneur. You won’t have any label attached to your money.

Have your evil plan. Do it in secret. Work on it a little bit each day. 1% a day.

Stay calm. Don’t be impatient or entitled.

Then you’ll be your own person. Nobody will be your boss. There won’t be a ceiling when it’s finally time to spread your wings and fly into the sky.

Sweet!

Photo-8_29_13--11.15.35-PM-60

It makes you a bigger (and hopefully better) version of you.

Being an Entrepreneur can be uncomfortable, especially when you’re just starting out. However, to build any muscle, you have to work it out and that can be uncomfortable. However, avoiding the work will never get you to the end result. So even though it can be a challenge, think about this:

– If you don’t network, you don’t meet new people. New people are the life-blood of any business.

– If you don’t ask, the answer is always no.

– It’s also pretty amazing to watch what comes when you step out of your comfort zone. You really have to experience it to appreciate it.

The personal growth that comes with doing the above list (especially if you tag yourself as shy) is amazing! and one of my favorite gains from Network Marketing. That’s what I wrote about in my Networking Times Magazine article.

So where do you see yourself – as an employee or entrepreneur, or both, or none.  Share you ideal in the comments below.

So what do you think?

