Some like it hot…truffles that is.

A few seasons ago, I could get my hands on my favorite milk chocolate treat (keep in mind that I love and prefer dark chocolate).

It was the Chipotle Nut Clusters from Dove Chocolate Discoveries. Each piece had just enough of the most creamy caramel, hinted with chipotle, to hold the pecans together. It was then covered in Dove milk Chocolate and topped with a sprinkling of sea salt and chipotle. It was happy mouth time for me. And then they went away for the foreseeable future. *insert sad face emoticon*.  Then one day, the company’s chefs suggested rolling truffles in the Sweet ‘n Spicy Cocoa rub. “Wait?!?! I think that is the answer to my “no-more-nut-clusters” problem.

Since then, I’ve been getting my spicy chocolate fix that way and because I’m making it, I often use my favorite…dark chocolate.

Picture

Picture

0408152132a

0408152135

0408152136a

Picture

0408152152

Picture

Making Spicy Chocolate Truffles at yesroanne.wordpress.com

Making Spicy Chocolate Truffles at yesroanne.wordpress.com

Picture

Picture

 

So here’s the recipe, which can be doubled:
6oz Chocolate (chopped)
1/4 cup of Heavy Cream (1/3 cup if you’re using Dark Chocolate)
Sweet ‘n Spicy Cocoa Rub (win one here).
  – 1/2 tbs (separated)
  – The rest to roll the truffles in.

Chop chocolate into ¼ inch or smaller pieces. Add the heavy cream and the 1/2 tbs of the Sweet ’n Spicy Cocoa Rub to a small pan. Heat the heavy cream over medium low heat while whisking in the Rub. Heat just until it starts to bubble at the edges. Remove from heat and add the chocolate. Stir until smooth. 

Line a container with plastic wrap and fill with the ganache. Tap the container several times on the counter to remove the air bubbles and even out the ganache. Allow to cool and harden. Once hardened, remove the solid chocolate (the plastic wrap makes this easier). Cut into squares with a knife and toss gently in the Sweet ’n Spicy Cocoa Rub.

Store your truffles in an airtight container in the refrigerator…if they even make it there.

NOTE: The heat ‘rating’ of these truffles will depend on your tolerance for heat/pepper. Mine is about a 4 on a scale of one to 10, ten being “I need a fire hose to put out my mouth.” These truffles are a 2. As the wrapper below says, ‘Be fearless’ and give them a try.

Speaking of truffles, check out our Mother’s Day Red Velvet truffle hearts. (7 sec video)

PS: I can hear some of you saying, “Square truffles ?!?!”

Yes. I like the lazy…no, efficient way, ; no scooping or rolling and less mess. Plus they look really different and, well, I like different :-).

 

Be fearless

So what do you think?

